BEAUTY: Tamar Braxton Uncovers Struggle With Vitiligo [PHOTOS]

Tamar Braxton, the youngest Braxton sister, and the life of the show, The Braxton’s Family Values has come out and let it be known that she has vitiligo, a skin disease which causes discoloration.

After the debut of the hit show, Braxton’s Family Values in 2011, rumors came out in the press that Tamar was bleaching her skin. Unfair  journalism blogging was done in, my opinion. No one actually took out the time to do their research and ask the tough questions before making a conclusion about Tamar and why she appeared to be lighter than all of the other Braxtons.

In an exclusive interview with Ebony this week, she laid the rumors to rest by revealing that her lighter-toned skin is due to vitiligo, a skin disease which causes discoloration. She also stated that she has had it at a very young age.

Here is what Tamar told Ebony:

Anybody with skin issues knows that that’s a very sensitive subject. And that’s why I’ve never shared that I have Vitiligo, because I do. I’ve always had it, since I was a young girl. It’s not as bad as others because everybody has it differently, but I’ve certainly had mine diagnosed.  That’s why I tan. People say, “You bleach your skin!” But I tan just so I can have a better tone on my skin, boo!

It’s gotten worse since I’ve gotten pregnant. If you shake my hand now, to me it’s more noticeable. But when you get diagnosed with a skin disorder, it’s hard. It does weigh on your self-esteem. It really does. But I’m done defending that. I’m not bleaching my skin and if I was bleaching my skin and I felt like saying so, I would, but for the record, I am not.

Vitiligo.com stated, “There are about 65 million people worldwide those have the vitiligo, including up to 2 million in the United States.” They also stated, “It is very typical disease, which interrupts with the uniformity of skin color and produces devastating effects on a person’s self-image. ”

According to Necole Bitchie,  Tamar, said she’s had the condition since she was young and instead of sympathizing with her, people have tried to attack her and say that she’s bleaching to look lighter.

Here is the image she posted on her instagram for those who did not believe her truth:

Kudos to you Tamar for sharing your REAL experience and letting people who are also experiencing discomfort or terrible rumors about their Vitiligo know that they too can live a completely normal life and be fabulous!

What do you think of the story? Do you think Tamar should be given an apology from those who quickly accused her of not loving herself and bleaching her skin???

SIDE BAR: Now let real journalism begin. Don’t just write/blog for numbers… share the facts with your readers.

3 thoughts on “BEAUTY: Tamar Braxton Uncovers Struggle With Vitiligo [PHOTOS]

  1. I’m 35 yr old man who had vitiligo for 12 years. Mine spread rapidly throughout my body, with depigmentation on joints, under eyes, hair, etc. I tried oral and light medications to no real avail. People used to make hurtful comments before, during and after treatment,… and this was tough. Eventually I started to make a natural treatment which has been a blessing to me.

    Begin a new life, you deserve it …Good luck!

Leave a Reply

